First game of Chain of Command


UPDATE 9/6/2013 I’ve been informed that the book has an index, but it’s omitted from the tablet edition.

We finally played our first game and it was great.  I wanted to record the video showing what it looked liked as we learned the game.  After the game I was able to catch a few things we had done wrong that would have made a difference in the outcome.  At first I wasn’t sure how the the dice rolling would work in determining things like changing ownership of phases and commanding units to activate on a given roll.  I think something I realized when we started playing was using the lower dice to add up to a higher command.  For example, taking say two rolls of one and combing them to make a two.  This will let you activate a squad if you have no teams available to you.

And the biggest error we made was on how many people can fire from a building.  This would have made a big change in the outcome for our game, but even so, the game was fun to play.

The one thing that would of helped us a lot would have been an index.  There were a few times I wanted to look something up but couldn’t find it.  I know that as you play a game more often, you’ll start to find and remember the rules, but it is annoying to remember you can do something, but not know where to find the specific rules that cover what you want to do.  Even so, we did eventually find enough to get through the game and have some fun.

I’m hoping the next game we record I’ll do a better job of putting breaks.  I wanted to post like one turn at a time, but couldn’t find a proper way to edit the video.  I’ll have to look into better editing software than Microsoft movie editor.  Enjoy the video and I hope you learn something from our mistakes.

2 thoughts on “First game of Chain of Command”

Leave a comment